Who am I? What am I? (Part I)


Welcome to my new home on the web.  Getting this blog in the shape I want it will be a work in progress as I learn how to maneauver my way around. So, I ask that you be patient with me for a while. The first few posts will be about me and the reason I am as I am.

I am an individual and being an individual means that I am an unique person. Being unique means that I cannot have an equal.  A person may find many similarities in a number of persons but there will always be something that glaringly sets each person apart from everyone else.  This is true even among identical siblings.  If I am to accept this as my core belief then I must reject anything that would compromise this individuality I possess.  With this as a given, each of my beliefs must reflect this fact, regardless of whether those beliefs are of a personal,political, religious, or of a social nature.

Being true to this concept requires that I accept full responsibility for my life.  In order for this to occur I must accept the fact that I must be inner motivated.  Being inner motivated recognizes that anything that will have an effect upon me is the direct result of my own decisions on what I am about to do.  I must accept this regardless of whether that effect will be as I intended or unintended.  I cannot deny that I and I alone am the cause of all that effects me.  This is the essence of the meaning of free will.

With a given of the attribute of a free will I must reject all that would declare that determinism has any value in my life.  For free will declares that I alone am the determinant of the effects of my life and and the concept of determinism and the collective mindset would deny this.  To remain true to the concept of possessing a free will I must also acknowledge that each of my fellow man also possesses this attribute and treat him thusly. Is this not the meaning of equality?

It is with this in mind that I can accept the benefits of life as my decisions has determined them to be and it is with this in mind I must allow others the same right.  And it is with this in mind that I must deal with any and every consequence of life as my decisions has determined them to be and I must allow others the same right also.  Is this not the meaning of equality?

It is with this in mind I recognize that I can only ask for help when needed but cannot demand it.  For from the idea of a free will I must recognize the right of another to deny me of their help.  It cannot be forced upon them. This is the essence of the meaning of choice.  It is from this I know that when help is given it is an act of charity for it was given freely and consensually.

It is from this I know the evil of force as well as its virtue.  It is from this I understand my weaknesses as well as my strengths.  It is from this I seek to learn from my mistakes and not wallow in self-pity when I make them thus in turn reject the pity of others.  In doing so I may leave this world in debt but not without self-respect.  This is the essence of the meaning of growth as a human being.

Categories: My Personal Philosophy of Life | Tags: , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Who am I? What am I? (Part I)

  1. I may (or may not) agree with you 100%, but I’m listening.

  2. The Griper

    as you know from my other blog i don’t expect people to agree with me. i just hope to make them think a little deeper into their own ideas.

  3. BB-Idaho

    Wow, new blogsite…teak paneling. Mighty fine!

  4. “Free will” is really quite limited, despite belief that we control ourselves and our lives. We think we have endless choices…until we try to make them. Each decision must not only be based on what we “want to do,” but also on our own capabilities and what is expected of us. Nature and society imprison us, whether we like it or not. The key to release is mystical realization. All in One and One in All, the divine unity, opens the gate between heaven and Earth…between a universal consciousness and most people’s constrained awareness.

  5. The Griper

    Thank you, BB. it is still a work in progress tho.

    He examines the comment of Ron’s and compares it to the comment of Gorges and smiles as hhe sees the contrast of attitudes.

  6. Nice diggs!

  7. The Griper

    thank you, dcat

  8. Bobby

    Nice place you got here.
    Now I’ve got to go and look up Alinsky.

Be respecful or your comment will be deleted. Also know that Alinsky tactics do not phase me

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

