Sexual orientation, more fuel added to the fire


Cynthia Nixon learned the hard way this week that when it comes to gay civil rights, the personal is always political. Very political.

The actress best known for portraying fiery lawyer Miranda Hobbes on “Sex and the City” is up to her perfectly arched eyebrows in controversy since The New York Times Magazine published a profile in which she was quoted as saying that for her, being gay was a conscious choice. Nixon is engaged to a woman with whom she has been in a relationship for eight years. Before that, she spent 15 years and had two children with a man.
More of her claims here

What say you on the issue?

Categories: Ethics and Morality, Politics, Science | Tags: , , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Sexual orientation, more fuel added to the fire

  1. Who could blame her. Woman look better. Smell better. Don’t need to be congratulated after a loud fart or belch.

    I’m suprised there aren’t more gay chicks Griper.

  2. The Griper

    can’t argue against your reasoning there, Joe.

  3. Besen said. “When people say it’s a choice, they are green-lighting an enormous amount of abuse because if it’s a choice, people will try to influence and guide young people to what they perceive as the right choice.”

    And I suppose teaching school kids that it’s “okay to be gay” ISN’T guiding young people to what someone sees as “right?”

    BTW, I HATE your new color scheme! (Nothing personal.)

  4. The Griper

    new color scheme!! it has always been this theme since i moved from Blogger to WordPress, Gorges. :)

    and how is influencing and guiding young people considered as abuse? I always thought that was one of the purposes and intent of being a parent or teacher.

    • I’d lost contact for a while when you moved and only reconnected in the last week or so. Your header looks awfully dim to me and I could barely see to comment earlier, due to less than perfect light conditions in my surroundings. It IS easier now that I’m back at my office, but it may still not be too good for anyone with the slightest vision problem. I’m not trying to be nasty; I just thought you might want to know that dark grey on lighter grey isn’t a good combination for some eyes.

  5. Personally, I don’t care what grown, consenting adults want to do behind closed doors. As far as guiding young people – one of the reasons we homeschool is because of this issue. We don’t want it presented as an option for them. That being said, if one of them turned out to be gay we would still dearly love them, but why put the idea there in the first place, let them figure it out on their own. That’s my .02.

  6. The Griper

    is this theme better, Gorges?

    • Well, garsh! Ya kinda put me on the spot, but yeah; it’s a lot easier on these tired old eyes of mine. I work at a computer all day and my eyes get to burning sometimes. Maybe that makes it worse for me when the contrast gets a little shaky. Thanks.

Be respecful or your comment will be deleted. Also know that Alinsky tactics do not phase me

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

